Friday, March 11, 2016

To Know Me - Marcy Blesy Book Blast

Enter to Win a 
$10.00 Amazon eGift Card

The Complete Series (1-4)
Marcy Blesy

Seventeen-year-old Mae is convinced that the consequences of her poor decisions have caused the untimely deaths of three close family members within a year, no matter how ludicrous her thoughts seem to those she loves. The solution? Run away so no one else she cares for gets hurt.

Despite Mae’s efforts to blend in at a new high school just long enough to graduate, she meets Ty, the "perfect guy" with his own secrets and a relentless interest in her. She must decide if she can stop running from the past and still protect those she loves; and if she does return home, whether Ty is really the right person to protect her fragile heart.

Complete 4 Book Series:
To Know Me
To Love Me
To Forgive Me
To Choose Me

**To Know Me is an upper YA-New Adult Romance Series, not intended for younger readers.**


Seventeen-year-old Mae is on the run from her hometown. She left her mother and changed her name. She even went as far as changing schools, because she was convinced she was cursed. She runs as far as Woodson and then stops to finish the last two months of school. As an older reader, I found this to be a plot convienence because you don’t need to go high school to get a GED. It took me a long time to get into this read because it felt rushed, first she was hiding in the back of the class and then instantly she was hanging out with the popular Ty. She didn’t blink an eye when he kissed her on the cheek just a few days into knowing her, and they acted like they were in love very quickly. Overall, I liked Mae as a character, but I also thought she was a little immature. That’s to be expected considering she’s only seventeen, but it was confusing when she jumped between being mature and then immature again. She refused to believe that her family died as the result of accidents and not because she was cursed. The writing was kept me reading through the four books, though the last one, To Choose Me was novella length, which was all that was needed to tie the series together neatly. For me it seemed like way too many awful things had happened to Mae during these books and the tragedies just kept coming. I liked that in the end everyone made their choices and found balance in their young lives and get to enjoy some peace. It was an interesting walk with Mae, and I enjoyed watching her grow and overcome her fears of losing people. There was plenty of loss in young Mae’s life, but in the end she’s rewarded with the love she deserves. To Know me Series will show the reader that anything is possible, and time heals all wounds.

Marcy Blesy is the author of several middle grade and young adult novels and short stories. Her picture book, Am I Like My Daddy?, helps children who experienced the loss of a parent when they were much younger. She has also been published in two Chicken Soup for the Soul books as well as various newspapers and magazines. By day she runs an elementary school library and enjoys spending time with her husband and two boys.

Marcy is a believer in love and enjoys nothing more than making her readers feel a book more than simply reading it. She likes to connect with her readers via @marcyblesy or at

No comments:

Post a Comment